How to Chart: The Practitioner's Charting Guide

  • Updated

Learn the basics on all things Charting-related.

 

Continue_Charting.gif

 

 

Where to Chart From

Logged in as a Practitioner, using the Home page Dashboard you are able to chart from either of the following areas:

 

a. Charting from the Charting Tab:

mceclip1.png




b. Charting from the Schedule Appointment:



mceclip0.png

Once a chart is started, it will be stored as In Progress until you select completed or lock the chart.  You will be able to delete the chart until it is Locked.

 

c. From the Practitioner Dashboard:

 


 

How to Edit a Chart

To edit a chart, open it from the Charting tab (if In Progress):

Continue_Charting.gif

Or 

From the Practitioner Dashboard select to Continue Chart or select In Progress

 

 

Once the chart is open select Continue Chart.

 



To complete the chart, select 'Complete & Close' or 'Lock Chart'.



Tip

Each edited chart that has been 'Completed' will create a new version.
The most recent version will be defaulted as the 'current' version and will be selected when exporting to PDF.

 

How to Delete a Chart

Only charts that are In Progress and Completed can be deleted.  Once they are locked they cannot be deleted. In Progress and Completed charts can be deleted from either the charting tab's menu or from the patient profile or from the Practitioner dashboard List of Charts.

 

Deleting from the Charting Tab

From the Home page, select the Chart tab, click the continue button and select Delete version in Progress.

 



mceclip4.png



Deleting from the Patient Profile

 

Navigate to the Patient Profile>Charts tab.  Locate the down arrow beside the Open button and select Delete Version In-Progress.


mceclip2.png

Deleting from the Practitioner Dashboard:

On the right side of the page the Patients charts will appear listed. Click the down arrow beside any chart that is identified as In Progress or Completed and select Delete Version In-Progress

mceclip1.png

 

mceclip5.png

 

 

Chart Status Details

See below an overview of all possible Chart Statuses:

In Progress


As soon as a new chart is started/edited, it will be autosaved as 'In Progress'. If the chart remains in Progress during the editing and saving of the document you will not have 'versions' of the chart. However, if you complete a chart and edit once or more you will get 'versions' of the chart based on the edits.

Completed
Once a user selects 'Complete & Close' on a chart, it will be saved as 'Completed'.

Completed &
In Progress

If a Completed chart has been edited, and has not again been 'Completed', it will be saved In Progress with the new edits. At this point the user can delete these edits to revert back to its previous state, or it can be 'Completed' to set the status that way.

Locked
To secure the chart and prevent any further edits, a chart can be Locked.

 

 

Additional Notes

 

1.  Appointments can only have one Chart attached. If a user completes a chart using an Appointment Date for a patient, another user will not be able to select it to chart with.
2. The autosave function does not work for the Drawing Canvas. The only method to save edits made to the drawing canvas is with the 'Complete & Close' option.
3. Only appointments in arrived and later statuses  that are scheduled with the practitioner will display in their Charting Tab.
4. The 'Copy from Last Chart' function will only work for the same practitioner. It will be based on the most recent chart completed for the same patient and complaint (if complaints are in use).
5. The 'Copy from Last Chart' function does not apply to the Notes tab.
6. If you are using custom charts and edits have been made to the template you cannot copy template data from past chart versions. Going forward with the latest version of the template, will allow the use of this function.
7. The most recent Practitioner to complete a chart will be assigned the author. Any users that make edits to the chart are noted next to their chart date version.
8. The appointment menu's 'Previous Charts' link can be changed to send the user directly to the Patient's Profile > Charts tab instead. This is adjusted in 
Settings > General > Scheduling > Appointment Menu Links > Previous Charts

 

Was this article helpful?

7 out of 8 found this helpful